banner ad
banner ad

How to Disable Photo Tagging in Facebook

| April 25, 2011 | Comments (8)
Print Friendly

FacebookTagBlue Despite photo tagging being one of the more popular features on Facebook, some people may find it annoying and intrusive when it happens without their permission. Moreover, figuring out how to disable or “opt out” of photo tagging isn’t as simple as it should be; digging through Facebook’s Privacy Settings can quickly become an overwhelming task.

Like me, most people find comfort in simple how-to guides. So I did the digging for you and put together some instructions on how to disable photo tagging for good.

Please feel free to share this with others. Facebook is the largest social network in the world, so getting your privacy settings to work for your benefit is extremely important for your online safety and the online safety of your children if you allow them on the site.

Part 1 – Preventing People from Tagging You in Photos and Videos

The first thing you need to do once you’ve logged in is go to Account in the top right and click on Privacy Settings.

1

Towards the bottom you’ll see Apps and Websites. Click on Edit your settings.

2
On the next screen, you’ll want to look for “Info accessible through your friends”. Click the Edit Settings button here.

3
In the box that pops up, you’ll see a bunch of tiny boxes that you can uncheck. Look for the “Photos and videos I’m tagged in” option and uncheck it.

4
On to the next part.

Part 2 – Opting out of Suggested Facebook Photos

The other way that you can get tagged in photos without your permission is you look like someone in a photo on Facebook. In other words, you don’t even have to be in the photo, it can just slightly look like you can someone can tag your name to that person’s face.

In order to disable this, you’ll want to go to the Account tab on your profile and choose Privacy Settings again.

1
On the next screen you’ll want to choose the “Customize Settings” option.

1a
This will bring up a list of options here, but what you want is the “Suggest photos of me to friends” setting. Once you find it, click on “Edit Settings”.

2a
Now you’ll only see one option, enable or disable. Go ahead and choose disable.

3a
Part 3 – Making Photos/Videos You’re Tagged in Visible to Only You

One last thing you can do is limit the visibility of the photos you’ve been tagged in, to you and only you. This acts as a last, cautionary step in case any tag somehow gets through—you’ll be the only person who can see your name being tagged.

One last time, start from the beginning and go to Account and choose the Privacy Settings option.

1
Click on Customize Settings.

1a
Now look for “Photos and videos you’re tagged in”. It’ll be right above the “Suggest photos of me to friends” option.

1b
In the box that pops up, you’ll want to choose “Customize” from the drop-down menu.

2b
From here, choose “Only Me” under the “Make this visible to” section of the pop up.

2c
Please let me know if this was as helpful to you as I hope it was.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Facebook, Privacy, Tutorials

Comments (8)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Ana says:

    How can you preventpeople who I dont want to share the picture with to tag themselves??

  2. Mary Kay says:

    Hi Steve,
    You bring up a good point. We’re actually in the process of putting a brand new, updated guide together. So stay tuned!
    Thanks,
    Mary Kay

  3. Steve says:

    Now that the Facebook privacy settings have changed, is there any way to UNDO these changes? I want to change my photo tagging settings, but since I followed these steps a few months ago I cannot figure out a way to undo these settings.

  4. karin says:

    if you choose not to be tagged in a photo you may never know the photo is on there. At least if you can be tagged in it and hate the photo you will know it is there and then can as the owner to take it down.

  5. Mary Kay says:

    Thanks for the comment, Renee. Please refer to my response to the comment above.

  6. Mary Kay says:

    Thanks for the comment. Yes, despite everyone’s appreciation of this guide, there definitely seems to be something misleading about Facebook’s privacy settings. They make it seems like taking all those steps would basically ensure that no one can tag you in photos. I did some further testing with my own account and it seems that my friends can still tag me in photos for some reason. The important thing to note here is, you get a notification every time you’ve been tagged. All you have to do is click the notification and under the photo click “remove tag”. Still, such a hassle and a runaround from FB on this.

  7. renee says:

    the third suggestion is not working but all the rest work great…hmmmm. Thank you for all the work you are doing. I matters.
    ~gratitude!
    ~renee

  8. Tsuken says:

    Thanks for all the work you’ve clearly put in to this, but it doesn’t appear to work – for my wife or me, at any rate: her friends and I can still tag her and see the photos at the top of her profile; and we just checked and she can tag me (in her own, and in my photos)
    Way to go, Facebook… :-/

Leave a Reply




If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.